Picture

One of the things that stands out to me the most about Scotland is the architecture. Whether walking down the street on the Isle of Arran or in the big cities of Glasgow or Edinburgh, I feel like I am going into the past. All the houses and shops on Arran are fairly similar looking in regards to the era in which they were built. They all have a very simple construction and modest height. They are typically white and give off an old time, yet modern, farm house feel.


The architecture in the cities is what amazes me the most. In St. Louis, we have old buildings. By old, I mean late 1800s to early 1900s. Before my trip to Scotland, I thought they were pretty neat. However, Glasgow and Edinburgh have buildings that are clearly centuries older. There are old churches and monuments that were built in the gothic styles and had survived Medieval times. Victorian and Romanesque styles could also be seen in buildings that are now apartments or offices. All these different styles are mixed in with modern building styles from the 19th to 21st centuries. Walking down the shopping district of Glasgow is beautiful. I had only seen these architectural styles in pictures from art history books before. To see them in person is truly amazing. They have such great detail and presence.
Oh, and don’t forget about Scotland's castles. The one in Edinburgh was the best. It was built in the 1400s and is brilliantly preserved.


-AMY




Leave a Reply.